Looks Like Dion Lewis and Dez Bryant Won’t be Charged

With the offseason NFL crime spree, we could sure use a little good news. It appears Dion Lewis of the Philadelphia Eagles and Dez Bryant of the Dallas Cowboys escaped charges this time at least. In light of recent events, that’s considered good news.

Lack of evidence for Lewis:

Lewis was the one with the embarrassing incident at a NY Hampton Inn when he and his brother returned from a night of partying in the early morning hours and were locked out. Desperate to get in, they came up with an effective but as drunk guys tend to do, an ill-advised solution by pulling the fire alarm. But today the DA said “no evidence a fire alarm was ever pulled.” HERE

My Take: “I got two Eagles tickets that says my client didn’t pull that alarm.”

Really DA? No evidence the alarm was pulled?  You have two guys out drinking all night standing out front of a hotel because they are locked out. They are desperate to get in and the fire alarm went off. I would say you have your “smoking gun” right there. No security cameras anywhere outside to show it getting pulled? Kind of hard to believe.

Anyway, Lewis pretty much confessed to it when after the incident he released an apology, “I want to apologize to my family, the Albany community, the Eagles organization and fans, and to the NFL for my involvement in an incident this past weekend. It was never my intention to cause any public alarm or damage any property. I am sorry for any embarrassment and inconvenience that my actions have caused. I am committed to continuing to conduct myself in conformance with the high moral, ethical and professional standards that I have my entire life and of which so many others rightly expect of me.”

Was he apologizing for not pulling the alarm??

Please understand it’s not that I want to see Lewis convicted of a crime that seems high schoolish compared to other incidents involving NFL players recently but something sort of smells here. All I can say is enjoy those Eagles tickets Mr. DA….

Mom chooses to not press charges:

Dez Bryant of the Cowboys was arrested for a more serious incident when his mother said he hit her. She decided to not press charges on Dez.

MY TAKE: “Don’t bite the hand that feeds you.”

I’m not shocked by this turn of events in the least. While it’s unclear exactly what happened between Dez and his mom, it certainly has made Dez look bad. It’s safe to say Dez is the meal ticket in the family and damaging his NFL career wouldn’t be of any benefit to his mom at all. Only make her life worse. She may be coming to that unfortunate realization.

Let’s hope that Dez learns from it and seeks the help he needs while mending his relationship with his mom.

