2014 NFL TEAM POWER RANKINGS: WEEK 1

NFLTeams

WEEK 2 RANKINGS
A power ranking of all 32 NFL teams prior to week one play.

The Twist: Each week my top 12 ranked teams will consist of 6 NFC teams and 6 AFC teams since 6 from each conference will qualify for the post season. I reflect the top 12 teams most likely to make the playoffs each week.

Each week, I have one NFC team and one AFC team in the top two to reflect who may end up in the super bowl.

Last year 7 teams I had ranked in the top 12 for week one, made the playoffs at the end of the season. In 2012, 8 out of 12 teams made the playoffs that were ranked in my initial top 12.

Stock Rising: Teams that I think will improve significantly over last year.
Ravens– After winning the super bowl in 2012, the Ravens took a giant step back last season. They missed Anquan Boldin at wide receiver but I think Steve Smith is going to help this team. I look for them to get back into the playoffs.
Jaguars– Henne can bring stability to the QB position and Bortles is a very good prospect for the future. This team has a long way to go but I look for them to take some steps in 2014.
Falcons– It’s not that I think the Falcons are super bowl ready now or anything but I look for them to be much more competitive than last season. I think drafting a tackle Jake Matthews in the first round will pay off.
Texans– The saying is, “no where to go but up”. With Clowney added to Watts on the defense, the Texans will be a tough team to score on. If they can get decent QB play, the Texans may climb out of the ditch they found themselves in last year.

Stock Dropping: Teams that I’m expecting to drop from last season.
Steelers-Blount and Bell pulling a “Cheech and Chong” before a game is a sign that coach Tomlin is losing this team quickly. I look for the Steelers to struggle in 2014.
Cowboys– Their defense is trying to find healthy people even before the season starts. Depth is weak and Romo’s health questionable. Not to mention a brutal December schedule with 3 out of 4 on the road. I usually predict a 8-8 finish for Dallas but finally the streak is broken. I look for a 6-10 finish in 2014 and that may be on the optimistic side.
Chiefs– They were the surprise team last season but I just don’t think they have everything in place to do it again. Still a decent team but taking a step back from last season. That melt down performance in the playoffs haunts them.
Bills– Not that the Bills were great last season but I can’t find a lot to be positive about with this team. Their QB play leaves a lot to be desired and will waste a great wide receiver in Sammy Watkins.

Week 1
1. Seahawks
2. Broncos
3. Saints
4. Patriots
5. Ravens
6. 49ers
7. Packers
8. Bengals
9. Colts
10. Chargers
11. Eagles
12. Panthers
13. Cardinals
14. Chiefs
15. Bears
16. Lions
17. Giants
18. Jets
19. Redskins
20. Falcons
21. Cowboys
22. Rams
23. Jaguars
24. Steelers
25. Vikings
26. Texans
27. Dolphins
28. Bucs
29. Browns
30. Titans
31. Bills
32. Raiders

